Goldster Conversations: Inside Story with Lucinda

with Jean Briggs Author of The Waxwork Man

15 February 2024

Jean Briggs taught English for many years in schools in Cheshire, Hong Kong, and Lancashire. She now lives in a cottage by a river in Cumbria with a view of the Howgill Fells and a lot of sheep – although it is the streets of Victorian London that are mostly in her mind, when writing about Charles Dickens as a detective. Her first case for Dickens was The Murder of Patience Brooke, published in 2014. There are eleven novels in the series so far, published by Sapere Books. Her most recent in the series, The Waxwork Man, came out in September 2023. A new book, set in WW1, was published in January 2024, but Mr Dickens, just now busy writing Bleak House, will be investigating again before long.

Jean was Vice Chair of the Crime Writers’ Association (2018-2022) and is still a board member of the CWA. She is also a member of the Historical Writers’ Association, the Dickens Fellowship, The Society of Authors, and a trustee of Sedbergh Book Town. Jean will be joining Lucinda Hawksley to chat about her books on 15 February at 12pm. Join them and be a part of the Goldster Conversation. 


Social media:

Twitter @jeancbriggs



Please also tag Lucinda in any posts: 

Twitter, Threads & Instagram: @lucindahawksley